Skip to content

My “better late than never” PASS Summit online session recordings blog

December 22, 2011

It was been way too long since my last blog post, but it has been a busy couple of months at my company, which isn’t a bad thing at all.

But, with a bit of a break in the last week or two of 2011, I had some free time to browse through the 2011 Summit online session recordings (available at the PASS Summit 2011 Learning Center web site – for Summit attendees only) and view several sessions that I had to “pass” on (yep, that was a pretty weak attempt at humor) back in October.

First, I love the recordings being in WMV format, so that I can play them back at faster-than-recorded speed. Most sessions can survive a replay rate of 1.5x to 2.0x to still be understandable, and I can get through a lot more content that way.

Second, I’m even more firmly convinced that the session content and quality has been outstanding this year. I have pages and pages of notes from watching some of these videos – much more than I could’ve written if I had attended the session live – of ideas and information that’ll keep me busy into early 2012.

Third, I’m a little depressed that there is still so much I’m catching up on in 2008 (and R2) and SQL2012 is right around the corner. But, that’s what keeps things interesting as a SQL DBA … right? Right!


Finally, for whoever might be reading my blog .. probably because you fat-fingered something in Google and it brought you here by mistake .. have a very Merry Christmas – or whatever occasion you choose to celebrate with loved ones in the next week and a half – and maybe watch a session or two if you have the time. Above all, recharge so that you can hit 2012 with both feet running.

Comments are closed.

